I was there

One of the things I enjoy doing is trying to imagine what it must have been like to be there when Jesus was walking along the roads and through the towns and villages in Israel and to watch Him as He lived the stories that are so familiar to those of us who follow Him today.  What did these people think?  What did they feel?  What pre-conceived ideas were shattered as they watched Him?  Many followed, many fell away, and many rejected Him outright.  Over the years I have written about such events.  Here is a poem about the day Jesus rode into Jerusalem.  I pray that God may use it to shine a new light on that moment in Jesus’ life for you.

I was there

I was there the day he rode into Jerusalem.

I heard the cries of the crowd long before I saw him.

Such excitement from my fellow countrymen.

For a moment my heart thrilled with the idea that this may be

The Messiah!

At last – riding on a war-horse – proud and mighty,

Leading a huge army to bring us to freedom

From the hated Roman rulers.

Yes, I was there the day he rode into town.

So much noise from the crowd, but still I couldn’t see him.

Such jubilation from the children of Jerusalem!

For a moment my pulse rate rose

As I imagined I heard them cry

‘Hosanna!’

Could it be?

Coming with pomp and ceremony into our Holy City

To free us from our masters, the oppressors of Rome?

Well … I saw him as he rode into Jerusalem.

I joined the crowd as they greeted him.

‘Hosanna to the Son of David!

Blessed is he who comes in the Name

Of the Lord!

Hosanna!’

A man – in home-spun clothing

Riding into the City of Zion.

I cut palm branches to lay before him

And for a moment my heart thrilled

When he rode passed me – filling me with love.

A man – riding on a donkey

To free us from our sin.

Only later did I understand …

The Pharisees wonder who he really was –

Messiah.

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Christian meditation, Salvation, Scripture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

