God-space -Part I

Recently I have been blessed by many new experiences. A few were just as I expected them to be, but others produced highlights that were higher and brighter than I had ever imagined they could be. Here is the first part of the tale of a few of those days. I hope you enjoy reading about them and can find God in them as I did.

God-space – Part I

Well, by my standards it was cold. The north wind blew lively gusts of frigid air from the Pole. To our hostess it was summer. Dressed in a light, short-sleeved shirt (in contrast to my two long sleeved jerseys and an additional sleeveless warm layer over the top) she smiled at us in delight.

‘What a beautiful day,’ she said – and indeed it was. ‘I love these bright summer days when the north wind blows. Somehow it seems to change the quality of the light.’

Summer? At 14° C with a wind chill factor of much less than that, if my nose had anything to say about it, I wondered again about summer. But all life is relative to where we find ourselves and it was, truly, a beautiful day.

I had prayed, now and then, for the last six months for the weather during our time on the islands off the west coast of Scotland. I had heard the stories and seen pictures of rain-lashed, wind-blasted islands with animals hunkered down against the onslaught, and people battling the elements, barely recognizable in their thick, oiled waterproof clothing.

I did not possess the varety or quality of clothing to cope with weather like that. I would, more than likely, not return to the islands (although God is teaching me never to say never …) and I wanted to take as much time as I could exploring them.

So I prayed. I knew this journey was a blessing and I had a feeling that God would make it the very best it could be.

I had been concerned about the ferry crossings – four in all. I am an abysmal sailor and the hour long crossing from the mainland to the first island hung over me on the Saturday night as I lay in my bed on terra firma anticipating the voyage the next day.

The morning dawned clear – and still. The hills around the town were reflected in the mirror surface of the sea. Not a wave or even a ripple broke that surface. And so it was, as we made our way to the island. I overheard a fellow traveller, obviously experienced, speak on his phone in his strong Scottish accent.

‘I have never seen the water so calm in all my life.’

My heart sang in spontaneous praise to my Creator! He had certainly answered my prayers for good weather for this crossing! I took photos and stood on deck and loved every minute of it as I soaked up the experience.

But God does not do things by half … there was still more to come.

(Next week I will share more of this wonderful experience with you.)

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Christian Living, Christian meditation, Worship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

