2017

What do the words ‘twenty seventeen’ mean for you today?  Are you looking forward to the new year, glad to see the end of the year that is past?  Or are you hesitant about the challenges that lie ahead of you?

Every year I ask God for a word to see me through the year.  In the past, I have had ‘believe’, ‘trust’,  ‘don’t be afraid’, and ‘hold on to Me’.  For 2016 God gave me 1 Chronicles 4:10 – ‘Oh, that You would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with e and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.’  I have prayed this prayer daily, asking God not to let my own mind or imagination limit the blessings He had planned for me.

And indeed, it has been a year of blessing.  In my work, I have published thirteen books and have another one in the editing stage which will hopefully be released in February or March.

In my family, I celebrated my mother’s 90th birthday with her in England.

In dreams fulfilled I toured the islands of Mull and Iona with a friend, and visited game reserves and nature reserves (the former have the big five – the latter are areas where you can walk around with a pair of binoculars without fear of being eaten!).

In my love of public speaking, I have been stretched and continue to be stretched into the new year.

Yes, God has blessed me indeed and enlarged my territory.

He has kept His hand upon me, giving me the strength and energy, the wisdom and serenity to do His work, whatever that may be on any given day.

And He has protected me from evil, – the bumper bashing I had slightly damaged my car but neither the driver who could not stop, nor I suffered any injury.  I pray that I have not, myself, caused evil to happen.

This verse has been my guide and my personal word from God for 2016.  I am still listening for 2017’s word.  God is saying to me that nothing is impossible for Him – and I am beginning to think that may be the word He has for me.  But I will live with it for a while.

What word is God whispering into your heart at the beginning of 2017?  Sharing our words from God with others may just help inspire them to ask Him for His word for them too.  If you already have a word or are seeking, put a comment in the comments box and let us pray for one another for the year ahead.

May God bless you richly in 2017 and may you feel His hand upon you as you open yourself to every blessing He has planned for you in the days ahead.

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Christian Living, Christian meditation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2017

  1. Jill Sneddon says:

    Thank you for sharing your word for 2016. I keep hearing ‘Let go & let God’ so maybe that’s my word for 2017 as I learn to relinquish the part of me that loves control!

    Like

Leave a Reply

