Surprise

 

This last few weeks, I have been calling God ‘The God of Surprises’.  I am not sure why.  I think I like the sound of the words, and people enjoy surprises.  I have put a positive spin on the word.  After all, a nasty surprise is a shock.  I believe Jesus came to give us an abundant life (John 10:10) which is fulfilling, satisfying, busy, joyful and so on.  Good things.  So the surprises God gives are to bless us and not to harm us.

I believe.

On Sunday this past week I prayed that the God of Surprises would do just that.  Surprise me.

So He did.  Someone complimented me unexpectedly as I arrived at church – not on my appearance but on who I am; I was asked to join a ministry close to my heart; then, just as I was enjoying my Sunday lunch, the doorbell rang – my daughter asking me to help with her three small children for the next two days.

The day continued, with heavy rain falling which, after a year of almost complete drought, was a blessing in itself.

It did not stop there.  I had an email from the US asking me if I was interested in contributing an article for an e-zine; another from a friend asking if she could include my faith story in a book she is writing, and a phone call inviting me to join friends at a concert next month.

What a day!

“Thanks, Mom, for helping out – you’ve been a real God-send!” my daughter said the next evening as she collected the children.

“Well, I prayed to the God of Surprises to surprise me yesterday morning.  This was an unexpected, delightful surprise.”

We laughed together.

God answers our prayers – even when we pray for suprises.

In fact – even this post is unexpected as, for the last few days I have not had a clue what to write about.

Surprise!

 

 

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian meditation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surprise

  1. Pip Mercier says:

    Absolutely!

    On 13 Jan 2017 10:04 AM, “Discovering the Rainbows” wrote:

    > Mandy Hackland posted: ” This last few weeks, I have been calling God > ‘The God of Surprises’. I am not sure why. I think I like the sound of > the words, and people enjoy surprises. I have put a positive spin on the > word. After all, a nasty surprise is a shock. I belie” >

    Like

  2. Ingrid says:

    Loved this! Thank you.

    Like

  3. Nicky Rutherfoord says:

    Very encouraging, thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

