Perseverance

A few years ago I published a book called An Interlude with God.  I have several writing projects on the go at the moment and so I thought it would be an idea to share with you some of my favourite Interludes on a Friday.  They will include a text, a meditation, an invitation to be part of the process, and a prayer.  I hope you enjoy them.  This one is entitled Perseverance.

I press on towards the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenwards in Christ Jesus. Philippians 3:14

Last July we had a new neighbour move in next door to us.  He cleared the property and started to build.  He is of small stature, and always very dapper.  He is incredibly industrious and works most of the day, with a break of a couple of hours at lunchtime.  He is perpetually going out for new building materials and I have never seen him looking sad or depressed – he is always cheerful.

He has built four pretty little cluster homes to date.   He is a craftsman, dedicated to his work as an artist would be, and each home, although similar in style, is unique in its own way.

He worked cheerfully from July through to the end of the following May, during which time, although he had many viewers, no-one ever moved in.  We would know when he had someone looking round one of his homes because he would always respect their privacy and let them look by themselves, but would, himself, rush around the property, whistling loudly, merrily and tunelessly until they came out again.  We could not understand why nobody wanted to move in as the area is lovely and the homes themselves are beautiful.  Our hearts would go out to him as they came to look and went away.  In May he took a two- month break and we lost track of him.

He started building again at the beginning of July.  Just as dapper, just as merry.  Last Saturday a lady came to visit.  We were alerted to her presence by a special note of joy and exuberance in his whistling as she looked at each home in turn.  At last he had succeeded and she agreed to move in!

What joy this little weaver bird has given us, in his smart yellow waistcoat, building continuously for ten months of the year without success, and now, at last, a lady friend to share the summer with him.  His beautiful nests sway gracefully in the branches of our pepper tree and his perseverance has been a lesson to us as we have watched him.  He never gave up.  He won the prize.  He is now, if anything, more industrious than ever and we watch them from our bedroom window with great satisfaction as they work together to make their home.

Action:

This week set yourself a goal and work towards it, letting nothing deter you.  When you are about to achieve your goal, set another, then another so that you accomplish a good deal and begin to fulfill your potential.  Record your goals, their progress and their accomplishment when you achieve them in your journal.  Remember to set the next goal.

Abba,

You know the plans You have for me, plans to do me good and not to harm me.  Please guide me as to which goals You want me to set and help me to persevere so that I may accomplish them one by one and become the person You made me to be.  Amen.

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Christian Living, Christian meditation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

