Light – again!

As I am inspired, day by day to write more for my new book Believers, I find that inspiration for these weekly posts is not easy to come by.  So here is another excerpt from An Interlude with God – this time about something that is dear to my heart this year.  Re-reading it, I marvel at how God has used light in this little meditation to describe the dilemmas we often find occupy our lives.  May it bless you as you read it and think on these things today.

LIGHT

Genesis 1:14-18

Then God commanded, ‘Let lights appear in the sky to separate day from night and to show the time when days, years, and religious festivals begin; they will shine in the sky to give light to the earth’ – and it was done.  So God made the two larger lights, the sun to rule over the day and the moon to rule over the night; He also made the stars.  He placed the lights in the sky to shine on the earth, to rule over the day and the night, and to separate light from darkness.  And God was pleased with what He saw.

 As I sit in the dappled shade watching the shadows and sunlight play on the page where I am writing, spend a moment with me looking at the patterns and shapes the gentle breeze forms.  Take delight in them.  I see the patterns of sunlight as those patches of my mind and spirit which are illuminated by the light of Christ.  My sunlit mind is inspired by His words, those written already as The Word, Holy Scripture, those in other devotional works, and those still to be given to the ones whom the Spirit uses to touch others lives through His inspiration.  In my spirit where patches of light reveal the parts of my life that I have given to God, I am illuminated by His healing and His love, shining for others to see.  Look for a moment into your own inner being – can you see the sunlight there?

And yet, even as I rejoice at these sunlit shapes in my life I am aware of shadow, and I realise that these too reflect my mind and spirit.  Dark parts of my mind where there is dis-ease and sometimes, conscious or unconscious, I am riddled with anger, jealousy and other sensations I prefer not even to acknowledge.  My spirit too is coloured by shadow – the parts of me I have hidden deep inside and do not want to reveal to myself, to others or even to my God.  Painful as it may be, can you see the dark shadows in your life?

But don’t linger there too long, for as I watch the dappled shade move around me, I begin to see that movement also in myself.  Sometimes I cling to this aspect of my life in dark shadow, and then the light of Christ moves in and the shadow shifts.  I give this area of my life to Christ, but live in danger of taking it back, so that it becomes shadow again.  Today, can you identify one patch of shadow that you can give to Jesus in your life, so that He can flood it with His light?

And so there are two things that I learn from this.  The first is that the light of Christ can touch and shape my life, illuminating fragments that have not known life before.  The second is that my analogy fails; for sunlight cannot shine through the shadows – in one way or another the shadows are always there.  But the light of Christ is warm and full of love and can dissolve the shadows in my life, and move me into Christ-likeness as I open myself up to Him.  He melts away even those areas of which I am unconscious and brings greater light into my life each day.

May dappled shadows always remind you of the potential of Christ’s light in your life and may your patches of shadow dissolve in His light and love.

Action:

Take time this week identifying some of the shadows in your life and humbly offering them to Jesus so that His light may shine on and through them and turn shadow to light; anger to peace; jealousy to love; in whatever way you need.  Record any changes you notice in your journal

Abba,

Shine the light and warmth of Your love on me this week so that it melts my shadows.  Please help me to give You those dark places in my life that I have buried.  Guide me in this and give me whatever courage I may need.  I want to shine more brightly for You every day.  Amen.

 

 

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Christian Living, Christian meditation, Healing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

