Rain

For unavoidable reasons, (and extremely bad timing on my part) both An Interlude with God and And Always God … are unavailable at the moment on the internet.  However, I am working hard to re-launch An Interlude with God (hopefully by the end of the week), and And Always God … will follow in due course.   In the meantime, here is another passage from Interludes – I hope you are enjoying them – it has been awfully quiet out there!

RAIN

Psalm 65:9 You show Your care for the land by sending rain; You make it rich and fertile.  You fill the streams with water; You provide the earth with crops. 

03h05 and it is raining.  For many that may not be unusual.  For us the rains are late and the earth has been dry and scorched.  Crackly grass, glorious bougainvillaea and stunning jacarandas bursting into a riot of colour – with no leaves to mute their celebration of spring.  But everything else has wilted in the heat, including us.  The heatwave of the last three days has left us weary for there was no reprieve, even during the night.  But tonight I wake to a glorious sound that I have not heard since March – rain!

I rejoice in my heart, knowing that once again God is cleansing creation of dust and smog.  Tomorrow morning will be washed and sparkling with millions of shimmering diamonds.  Colours will be bright, vistas will be clear and once again the views that are visible from the high ground will be glorious, rather than seen through a haze of dust.  All creation strains to be refreshed by the rain.

There is a delicious smell of wet earth and I know that, in a moment, there will be the homely smell of wet dog, for my Labrador bitch loves the rain.  She comes in with a sparkle in her eye, the fur on her head standing stiff and spiky making her look like a punk rocker.  She delights in shaking off the excess water over as many of us as she can, sending sprays of rainbow drops in all directions.  Is that sparkle in her eyes a gleam of merriment?  Does she tease us with her delight in sharing this gift of rain?  She steams gently as she dries, but for hours the fur on her head remains damp.

I love the first rains of spring.  They remind me of God’s grace to us, showering down on us, removing the grime of life, restoring the colours of His love, refreshing, renewing, invigorating, giving us new life, hope and a promise of things to come.  I sit in my writing chair and revel in the sound, quietly praising God for His bounty as the first bird of the morning hails the coming dawn with song.

Good morning, Lord!  Thank You for Your gift of rain!

Action:

This week ask God to help you choose a province or a country that needs rain and praise Him for the rain that He will send there.  Believe that it will happen and expect to hear of it when it does.  Continue to praise God until it rains and record your prayers and the answers in your journal.

Abba,

I know that You love to be praised, and so I delight in praising You for all the blessings You have in store for me and those I love, even though I do not know what they will be at this time.  Abba, I praise You for who You are and for all that You are going to do.  Bless You Abba.  Amen.

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Christian Living, Christian meditation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

