Why write?

In forty minutes this blog post will be released to the world.  It has been one of those weeks when I have been distracted by other things – meetings, family, friends, unexpected commitments.  This post has slipped my mind until now.

“Just leave it this week,” the little voice on my left shoulder whispers in my ear.  “Really, who’s going to notice? And anyway, what are you going to write about?  Inspiration is absent, time is short.  Who will care?”

And here comes the other little voice, from my right shoulder.

“But there are some people in the world who will miss it.”

“Really?”  The low voice on the left demands.  “Like who?”

“The people in the US who are such loyal followers.  And what about your readers in Australia and England, France, Germany, and Italy.  And those here at home? It may be today they look for this post.  It may be the very thing they need to read.  Never mind all those folk who visit from time to time in countries that are such amazing places for your post to be read – exotic countries you never dreamed you would connect with.”

“Yeah, yeah, as if they care.  Would they really miss it if you stopped posting this Friday post – and what about the others for the rest of the week?  How many people would even realise you had stopped?  I think you’re fooling yourself and need to stop.  Why put in the effort and …”

“But I would care.”

The third voice rings in my mind and stops all other conversation as I turn my attention to this One I love so well.

“I would care if you stopped.  You are writing at my command.  I lead people to this blog to hear my word in places where they may not hear. I give you the words to say.  Carry on, my daughter.  You have no idea how I touch the lives of those who read, or even how many read for not all receive the posts through this medium.  I have called you to write – so persevere, my child.”

And so I do.  Even when inspiration is short and time is ticking.  Thirty minutes now and I must work out the tags and categories and the time of posting.  I don’t know if this post will bless you.  I don’t even know if you will read it to the end.  But I do know that I write it by Royal Command from the King of kings.

And so – here it is.  God bless you.

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Christian Living, Christian meditation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why write?

  1. Jill nightingale says:

    I read it to the end! You have a calling and a huge talent. God bless you in all your work. Love Jillx

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

