Coincidence?

How do you explain coincidences?

This week something happened in my writing world that I could have described as a coincidence if I was not aware of God’s role in my life.  I am not going to go into details (yet) but right from the beginning of the morning, I was aware of God’s nudges.  Do this, take that, go into this place, ask this question, be bold.

They were strong, these nudges.  And I responded to them as best I could.  That’s when part of my prayer – the long term prayer to which God had said ‘Wait, trust Me,’ – was answered.

Oh, it’s a coincidence, many would say.  But I don’t believe in coincidences.  Nothing that happens in the life of a Christ-follower is a coincidence.  People have termed the phrase God-incidence.  I am not sure I like it – I don’t think anything that happens is an ‘incidence’ at all when we follow Jesus.  I think it was part of God’s plan.  Set out, pre-determined, not incidental at all.

The person I met was in that place ‘unexpectedly’.  Perhaps they were there to meet me – part of God’s plan for them.

I have no idea what the results of that meeting will be – at this stage, I suspect, neither does the other person.  But I left them with my heart singing at the faithfulness of my God who keeps His promises always.

‘Trust Me in this,’ He had said.  ‘Wait on Me,’ were His instructions.  And I had tried my best to do just that.  Sometimes it was hard.  Doors were closed, but the keyholes were large and it was tempting to peer through them to the ‘land of promise’ that lay beyond.  But those lands were not my lands, and I had neither the key nor Alice in Wonderland’s shrinking drink to squeeze through.

But this door was wide open.  I had no need to squeeze through.  God flung it open and said, ‘Come inside.’  And laughed in delight as I responded to His invitation.

We’ll see where it leads in due time.  I’ll keep you posted.  In the meantime, I continue to wait and to trust my Lord.

God bless you.

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Christian Living, Christian meditation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

