Challenge

Next week I am going to be challenged.  I have volunteered to take part in a program that produces mixed feelings in me.

Sometimes I find myself looking forward to it.  It is a program that is close to my heart and I know it is right that I am participating.

But then I am afraid.  What emotions will it produce?  What will I have to face in others, and in myself as I journey with my fellow participants?

There is a sense of inadequacy.  Who am I to think I can be a positive influence?  Is that even my role?  My experience is limited and neither I nor any of the other participants have all the answers.

It would be more comfortable to stay at home.  But then I know there will be a restlessness inside me as I try to settle and attempt to do work God has not called me to do in that time. I have resisted God’s call before and I know He will not let me forget that I am not following His plan for me.

My heart thumps to a humdrum beat as I think of the days ahead.  Will I be of any use?  Will I desert my post?  What happens if … or if … or if …

I know what I must do.  I know what I will do.  I will go and accept the challenge.  God promises me, even as I write that the words He said to Paul are true for me.  And so I am trying to respond as Paul did, clinging to Jesus as I hear His voice.

‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.’

Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. … For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

I have no idea, at this point in time, how next week will unfold.  But I will go forward, holding on to Jesus, and relying on His strength to be mine.

I value your prayers as I do so.  God bless you.

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Christian Living, Christian meditation, empowering and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Challenge

  1. Vera Botes says:

    Dear Mandy. My thoughts and prayers will be with you next week. I admire your braveness and determination. As you said, God will guide you.

    Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Love and blessings

    Vera

    Like

Leave a Reply

