Challenge 2

Last week I wrote about a challenge I needed to face and spoke of my concern as to how it would affect me and what emotions it would release.

I have to say I was nervous as I drove to the venue on Monday morning.  Fear of the unknown was strong – and yet I knew that I did not go alone, for God was with me, even during the journey there.

There was a warm welcome as I walked through the door for all of us attending, and I realized that. perhaps, I was not the only one who was nervous.  Others had far more at stake than I did.  We chatted over coffee and muffins.  Some were strangers, others were familiar faces, people I had known for several years.

The morning was spent introducing ourselves.  Why were we there?  What role would we play? What was the agenda for the week?  It was made easy to share.  It was a non-threatening environment and we left after lunch feeling that it was okay to come back.

The speakers and the interaction between the delegates were positive.  Emotions were felt, expressed and accepted.  There was no condemnation.  Each of us there had walked our own path and our companions for the week were not there to judge but to encourage, support and pray.

I had a specific task to do, and it was only on Thursday that I was asked to fulfill my role.  I was invited to spend some time in silent prayer with another.  I don’t know why it made me so nervous.  I have prayed often for others.  Perhaps it was because the prayer needed to be silent.  So we spoke little and then settled down to pray.

Was it really half an hour we spent together?  God guided the prayer in the silence.  The room was full of His presence.  I prayed for issues I had no idea about.  Somehow I knew they had relevance for the one for whom I was praying.

God moved in power.  He touched both our lives and we left that little room, bonded together by prayer, by God’s love and by the experience we had shared.

I have found God unites those who pray together in a special relationship.  Perhaps it is that we recognize one another as sisters in Christ.  Perhaps the very act is enough to strengthen the relationship (if there even was one to begin with) and to make an unbreakable bond between God’s children. We have no idea when we will see one another again, or even if we will.

But this week I gained a sister in Christ.  The fear melted away to be replaced by the joy of a challenge issued by God and accepted.

My prayer on a daily basis is that God will use me as a channel of His grace and peace.

I believe this week He did.  And I am at peace.

About Mandy Hackland

My love in life is to encourage others to deepen their relationship with God. I write devotional material, stories and small group studies with that in mind. I live in South Africa and also love spending time in the bush, bird watching and walking. I do live in the city but make the most of the green spaces that surround me.
This entry was posted in Abundant Life, Christian Living, Christian meditation, Healing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

